[Techtalk] help! what kind of hack is this?

Carla Schroder carla at bratgrrl.com
Sun May 25 21:32:14 EST 2003

On Sunday 25 May 2003 8:51 pm, Kai MacTane wrote:
> At 5/25/03 07:46 PM , Carla Schroder wrote:
> >Hmmm.... guess I'll have to ask my web host. They are death on any script
> >from Matt's archive, so it would be surprising if they are using one, or
> >using any kind of formmail script. It does not compute!
> >janus.affordablehost.com is the server that hosts bratgrrl.com.
> Weird. It didn't look like it in my quick checks:
> root at surehand root# host
> Host not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
> root at surehand root# host bratgrrl.com
> bratgrrl.com has address
> root at surehand root# host www.bratgrrl.com
> www.bratgrrl.com is an alias for bratgrrl.com.
> bratgrrl.com has address
> root at surehand root#
> Actually, I just assumed that (from the X-Originating-IP:
> header was janus.affordablehost.com.
> is an Affordable Host IP, if the other IP is legit, it's from 
the scanner dork. I found an interesting site that talks about this:

This particular "spankysparade" twit shows up a lot, from all kinds of IPs, so 
who knows where it really comes from.
Carla Schroder
this message brought to you
by Libranet 2.7 and Kmail

More information about the Techtalk mailing list